top of page

Thirty6Kealo, an artist you need to watch out for..

Home to less than 30,000 people, Malboro County is located in the northern part of South Carolina. Someone who's going to put Malboro County on the map, is Okealy Douglas better known as Thirty6Kealo.

Okealy Douglas was born June 22nd, 1994. Thirty6Kealo started rapping with a group back in high school, but the songs were just for fun. He dropped his first song in 2015, titled "Codeine Sippin" and it was off his mixtape French Toast and Codeine. Recently, Thirty6Kealo has gained more recognition in the rap game with his unique style of rap. 

The 24-year-old rapper is turning heads with his vibrant energy and with the views steadily increasing, Thirty6Kealo is looking to move up in the rap game. Unfornately, Thirty6Kealo doesn't have any projects coming out soon, but he will be releasing singles with producers FadedBlacKid, IcyTwat and LordFubu.

In a recent interview with Luther Chaplin, get to know to more about upcoming Malboro County rapper Thirty6Kealo.

How did you come up with your rap name?

My real name is Okealy so it was easy for people to start calling me Kealo. Being around my older cousins, they was in the streets hard so I knew certain language. 36oz is a kilo so that's how the 36 came-about. Thirty6Kealo.

Who influenced your style of rap? And how do you separate yourself from other artist in the game?

My biggest influence on music has a lot to do with my up bringing. I was the weird kid but I lived in the projects and in the hood like most people of my ethnicity. My mom legit use to print our lyrics of old songs so i can have a better understanding of music. Also, I had a ear for different genres. I probably be listening to lil Wayne one day then next day I’m listening to Weezer. So just being me influenced a lot of music. Being true to yourself always have the biggest impact on your life.

Hip Gripper is one of your most viewed videos, how does it feel to almost have 20,000 views and what was the concept behind the music video? Seeing HipGripper shoot up with the views is amazing. I’m just hoping that it keeps going. I’m always on something different so that’s why I chose the playground for the main scenery. It just had the perfect colors for the video. I told JPhil I wanted to be colorful and filled with energy that’s why we chose this area. It just felt right. You're also a friend of upcoming rapper Silk the Prince, could we expect more collabs from you guys in the future? Most definitely. We got a lot more on the way. Two different worlds clashing to make some flames!

What artist have you been compared to? The only comparison I get is based on my energy, people always see me and Dex will have a Flames video if we ever collab.

If you had the opportunity to work with any artist or producer, who would it be and why?

The artist I will work with is Tyler the creator. Tyler real as fuck. He legit one artist that I have seen remain the same as a person throughout his career. His impact on the culture is insane. I want to perform at camp flog gnaw one day. That’s goals. Far as producers, I will like to continue with the underground. The underground is what creates the culture. We create disturbance. So any producer who on their own wave and not riding waves, I love working with.

Do you feel like you have a chance to put Malboro on the map in the rap game? My goal is not to only put my hometown on the map but my home state. I represent the South Carolina culture. So yes I feel like I have a chance. It’s not going be an easy task but it’s going happen. Right now they indecisive about my because it’s not trap beats. Eventually everyone will understand. Everything takes time.

Check out Thirty6Kealo's music on Soundcloud and follow him on Instagram and Twitter @Thirty6Kealo.


bottom of page